The Phoenix Trail

first published on 17th Feb 2011, photos restored today

The trail largely follows the route of a disused railway line, the Wycombe Railway, which connected Princes Risborough and Thame with the city of Oxford. The line through Thame remained open until 1991 to serve an oil depot based in the town. (Wikipedia)

It’s open to pedestrians, horses, dogs and pedal cyclists.

This is from a site by Richard Gower

Start / Finish: Car Park at The Mount, Princes Risborough, HP27 9AN
Distance: 47.6 km (29.6 miles)
Elevation: +/- 313m
GPX File: get via Buy Me a Coffee
Other Routes Touched (walk): Risborough Pink Route, Midshires Way, Oxfordshire Way, The Ridgeway, Aston Rowant Discovery Trail, The Chiltern Way
Other Routes Touched (cycle): NCN 57
Pubs / Cafes on route: Many in Princes Risborough, Thame and Watlington. We stopped at the Spire & Spoke in Watlington (27 km in) and the Lions of Bledlow (41 km in)
Maps: OS Explorer Map (180) Oxford, Witney and Woodstock and OS Explorer Map (181) Chiltern Hills North
Links: Sustrans Phoenix Trail, Sustrans NCN 57, Wycombe Railway, Watlington and Princes Risborough Railway, Chinnor & Princes Risborough Railway, Princes Risborough, Thame, Tetsworth, Watlington, Chinnor, Bledlow

milestone marker
in a shady spot under a hedge there’s no grass only moss and clover
I couldn’t find any information about this magnificent signpost

 

 

two kinds of lichen hugging one another on a rotting twig

See also “On the Phoenix Trail

 

10 thoughts on “The Phoenix Trail”

  1. I think I'd have this nagging doubt in the back of my mind that a train was still going to come along somehow, you know, like someone didn't get the message or something. You'd be riding your bike, and you'd look back, and suddenly a train would be baring down on you on the path behind you. That's sad, I know.

    Like

  2. Well, as a pedestrian I would not fear the train coming. At least it would make a noise. On that path I was suddenly overtaken by an elderly man on a bicycle (elderly means older than me). It clearly says on the sign that I reproduced that cyclists should give warning by ringing their bells. But it seems bells are no longer fitted. He wished me good morning when he was an inch away. I nearly jumped out of my skin.

    Like

  3. As you may remember from a few posts of mine, I find this sort of thing irresistible. It combines my slightly geekish love of railway lines, especially disused ones, with my love of wandering through the countryside.

    Deep in the country on such paths you will always meet an old man on a bike. He is invariably 75, and will tell you how he spent his youth walking between the villages looking for work when the paths were the only road there was, and now rides the same tracks because 'it's good for his heart'. (ie, he gets bored at home and his wife doesn't want him in the way). I always stop to listen. One day I fear (or hope) that I will be that old man.

    Like

  4. The funghi are interesting. I have seen very similar types in and close to woodland, in particular where beech trees may be found.

    It looks like the Phoenix Cycle Trail has been reborn for off-road and mixti-cycles. The terrain would allow a satisfying sweeping “swish” from the circulation of deep cut tyres.

    Like

  5. Hi Zacl. Yes, the lichen were growing on hedgerow trees, but I don’t know what kind they were. The sign is particular in prohibiting “motorbikes”, which would generate ruts in the path and change its quiet character.

    CIngram, I too wonder if I am or will be that old man, but I’m frightened to ride a bike on any road with motor traffic, and glad to be unburdened by having one at all. Don't have a place to keep one, even.

    Like

  6. CIngram, I went back to the same trail and did meet the man you refer to. You have the gift of prophecy (or time travel, like Bryan). So I shall be telling The Tale of the Ancient Bicyclist in a new post.

    Like

Leave a comment