Nature’s Infallible Rules . . .

You lose something and you tell your house-mate. She says, in my case Karleen, ” Where did you have it last?”or perhaps “When?” Then you say “well I don’t know, I only just realized I don’t have it,” referring to something precious, in this case the glasses I use all day except for close work like reading where I don’t need them. But they’re essential for viewing the computer screen in comfort.

One infallible rule says they’re exactly where you last used them. The last time I remembered for sure having them was when I took my magnificent new walker out for a little stroll in the company of my physiotherapist. It was many months since I’d left the house except when  hobbling into a taxi.

I can walk for miles in this,take my reading & writing materials and smartphone. When I feel a little weary there’s a seat for taking a breather. You may see from the photo that it’s not fully open. It folds flat for storage and taking on a bus

So I phoned aid I could have the oblong shape I wanted with thin gunmetal frame for £10. All they had to do was grind the lenses to the same prescription. Someone would ring me bsck but no one did. So I went to Boots and found a pair of sunglasses which seemed to do the trick when I held my hand 35cm away. Alas, when I got home I found they assumed 20-20 vision, wich made them blurry.

But before that, Karleen pointed to a little table in the front room without saying a word. “What? are these your new glasses?” No, she replied. “These are yours.”

 

These are mine
“Those are yours”

1 thought on “Nature’s Infallible Rules . . .”

Leave a comment