an american speaks about hungary in 1956

famously makes up words & phrases as he pleases in lower case only without punctuating

THANKSGIVING (1956)

a monstering horror swallows
this unworld me by you
as the god of our fathers’ fathers bows
to a which that walks like a who

but the voice-with-a-smile of democracy
announces night & day
`all poor little peoples that want to be free
just trust in the u s a’

suddenly uprose hungary
and she gave a terrible cry
`no slave’s unlife shall murder me
for i will freely die’

she cried so high thermopylae
heard her and marathon
and all prehuman history
and finally The UN

`be quiet little hungary
and do as you are bid
a good kind bear is angary
we fear for the quo pro quid’

uncle sam shrugs his pretty
pink shoulders you know how
and he twitches a liberal titty
and lisps `i’m busy right now’

so rah-rah-rah democracy
let’s all be as thankful as hell
and bury the statue of liberty
(because it begins to smell)

The Hungarian Revolution of 1956 (23 October – 4 November 1956; Hungarian1956-os forradalom), also known as the Hungarian Uprising, was an attempted countrywide revolution against the government of the Hungarian People’s Republic (1949–1989) and the policies caused by the government’s subordination to the Soviet Union (USSR).[nb 2] The uprising lasted 12 days before being crushed by Soviet tanks and troops on 4 November 1956. Thousands were killed and wounded and nearly a quarter of a million Hungarians fled the country.[4][5]           from Wikipedia

america explains why it did nothing

 

2 thoughts on “an american speaks about hungary in 1956”

  1. Hello, Vincent. The Hungarian Revolution of 1956 took place just as I was completing basic military training at Fort Jackson, S.C. The sergeants told us that we were to be sent directly to Hungary (or alternatively to Suez). Even at age 19, I knew enough to realize they were lying.

    Knowing that young men my age were fighting Soviet tanks with Molotov cocktails, and that I would likely serve my enlistment in safety, made me feel guilty – and also relieved.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I was 14 at the time, at a grammar school on the Isle of Wight. It was almost obligatory to join the Cadet Force, as we’d be liable for National Service in the military when we
    reached 18. I’m reminded of this in a “related” link at the bottom of my post:

    King James I School

    As it happened, at that age I’d reached 18 and liable for 2 years’ conscription,, which would have postponed my scholarship for university. But it ended in 1960, when I left school, so I was spared.

    Like

Leave a comment