Face-to-Face

The ghost of Christine Keeler is returning to public view, in the form of a TV series now on BBC, and a forthcoming exhibition in London, which I heard about through Natalie D’Arbeloff’s blog, in which she says

Christine Keeler was, in that story, simultaneously absolutely powerless and absolutely powerful. She was neither victim nor hero and could not protect herself from the manipulations of powerful men.

Reading this, I thought of chess. I first heard that a pawn may become a queen from “Alice Through the Looking Glass”, given me for my seventh birthday. I was in a quarantined hospital ward at the time with nobody to ask, so wasn’t sure if this pawn-to-queen transformation was in the rules or part of the fiction. In any case, this most powerful piece can be trapped and taken out. Christine Keeler: Red Queen (See also The Girl who Torpedoed the Government”).

She was 9 days older than me. We met by chance when we were both 18, in the summer of ’59, and chatted on a grassy spot for an hour or two till cut short by the sunshine turning to rain. Face-to-face versus relayed reportage, which tells you more about a person? I knew her, of course, only from what she presented, and out of that, what my naïveté allowed me to understand.

Half a century later I’ve learned that we as flesh and blood humans are infinite beings, whose future is not written in the stars. It’s not a scripted screenplay but an improvisation. As in a movie what happens is affected by our encounters, and who those real-life characters are. Can we truly know a person? There’s what they choose to show us, their own idea of who they are, and the impressions we receive. When I speak of infinite beings, I mean something beyond all those.

What I’ve called “reportage” may be words, images or other artworks. It’s finite, cannot tell the whole truth, cannot help being mingled with fiction. Fiction arising from ignorance, selective truth or deliberate creativity. And yet all of these may be influenced by a glimpse of infinity.

Meeting Christine Keeler* made no difference to my life except as an episode whose memory wasn’t evoked till I first read her name in the papers four years later, and recognised it. I don’t suppose she remembered me at all.

And yet her adult life was shaped by encounters, not with just anyone but those she felt would help exploit her assets, and get her where she wanted to go. Which is not where she ended up.

We both had insecure and unfortunate childhoods. My own adult life has been largely a mess until it changed—into the wonderful blessing of living happily ever after. There: in two sentences, enough autobiography.

After finishing the above, it suddenly occurs to me that Natalie and I have met face-to-face too. How far if at all has it changed our lives? Or have we been influenced more by reading one another’s blogs? Perhaps art brings out more than life?

7 thoughts on “Face-to-Face”

  1. Thanks for this Vincent, it’s such an amazing and interesting coincidence that you met Christine at that young stage in both your lives. Wouldn’t it be fantastic if there was a recorded transcript and/or video of your encounter on that grassy spot? Was in in a London park? I wonder if she was at that time already embroiled with some of the people who later figure so prominently in her story. Fionn Wilson, the artist who thought of and organised the ‘Dear Christine’ exhibition in which I’m participating, has been fascinated by CK for years and has collected all available material about and by her. I’ll email you her contact details, I’m sure she’d be interested to hear about your meeting Christine. Will write you later tonight.

    Like

  2. Is there a point in our lives when we quit being a pawn and become a queen? Has the pawn phase done its work and become ready to transition to a vessel which can command the field and influence the outcome?
    The traces of Christine’s interactions may continue to change thought and action wherever her story is heard.

    Like

  3. Thanks, Ellie. I couldn’t possibly answer your question, perhaps others may. I based the post on reminiscences from 72 and 60 years ago reviewed in the light of how I see things today

    My brief meeting with Christine could hardly be called interaction. There was no soul connection, no erotic attraction, no resonance. Her story was simply interesting, and offered the chance to share my own, for the sake of balance. As a lad of 18 who had hardly met any girls (result of boys’ boarding schools, no settled home) I thought of her as a potential trophy or arm candy and someone to talk to, otherwise not my kind of person.

    My post was rather thrown together for the sake of doing something creative and reiterating a current theme of soul connection and infinite beings, to see if it might fit. I don’t think it hangs together. But for the sake of the comments it will be left here – nothing to lose.

    Glad to be a pawn

    Vincent

    Like

  4. Pawn doesn’t fit you at all. You are more self-sufficient, adventurous, unpredictable than any pawn. Perhaps you are more of a knight finding your opportunity when you opponent make an unwise move.

    I like your post as it is. More important than ‘hanging together’ is ‘doing something creative and reiterating a current theme of soul connection and infinite beings.’

    As Always, ellie

    Like

  5. From pawn to queen; it strikes me as an enormous topic. Fit for a big book which, I hasten to add, I shall not be writing. Examples comes tumbling, though, don’t they.

    To be topical: Megan Markle (‘Megan Markle/wants to sparkle./Not in your dreams/says the proper Queen’)
    Or Marilyn Monroe. Appeared to take on queenly status, but was, according to some sources, a ‘Beta Kitten’: useful and lovely, but totally dispensable and disposable.
    There is also that song, which some readers may be wise and mature enough to recall, by Peter Sarstedt, about a beautiful new member of the nouveau riche: ‘Where do you go to my lovely/when you’re alone in your bed?…… ‘I remember the backstreets of Naples/two children begging in rags….’

    Plenty of male equivalents come readily to mind: Diego Maradona, Paul Gascogne (footballers, for those readers coming from less soccer-focussed nations), and the list goes on.

    From pawn to queen, if considered in terms of status, wealth, fame, would appear to be a rocky path at best. I suppose that one aim of ‘the inner work’ is to demonstrate to the individual concerned that they are a queen or king as they are, within, and they don’t need to project it out onto all that stuff. The language often adopted by the New Age to point this out makes me cringe, but I guess it’s the way to go.

    Yes, I concur; Ian is most like a knight!

    Like

  6. Thanks, it’s good to know this blog still has a few fans. Knight? If you saw my latest draft*, you might say “Bishop, more like” with quotes and other stuff from The Church Times – the only newspaper I like these days.

    In the case of this blog’s author, “pawn” signifies lack of ambition, other than to speak my truth which increasingly sees antagonism & individualism melting & coalescing into oneness, which is rather too big to write about, and kind of unnecessary too. This is from Martin Amis, I heard him say it in an interview on BBC Radio:

    It’s been said that happiness writes white. It doesn’t show up on the page. When you’re on holiday and writing a letter home to a friend, no one wants a letter that says the food is good and the weather is charming and the accommodations comfortable. You want to hear about lost passports and rat-filled shacks.

    It was first said by Henri de Montherlant, translated as “Happiness writes in white ink on a white page”.

    I’m more likely to scribble in green ink in my notebook, intending to publish, but then it fizzles out. Don’t know if it’s lazy complacency or being better at criticizing than writing

    *PS now published

    Like

Leave a comment