Taking the Bull by the Horns

From Friday’s Daily Telegraph. The last of the aurochs died in Poland, in 1627

I’m writing this post in pen and ink while my computer’s still at the mender’s, being restored from the wrecking job I did on its data. An ignorant computer user could never have ruined it so thoroughly, but I’ve proved the old adage, that a little knowledge is a dangerous thing. The more you know, the more thoroughly you can screw things up. The mender, having no idea of my complex file structures, managed to overwrite all my emails, passwords, and browser settings plus most of my installed software, leaving me with a clean machine, as if I’d just bought a new one, with what he thought were my “important files” pasted in afterwards.

Now I know how it feels when your baby has been kidnapped, possibly never to be seen again. You go through the stages of grief, starting with “Denial”. So you get up in the night and try to wrest something out of the dark pit of final loss; and even make a little progress, till you move on to the next stage, “Anger”. One must keep in mind that Elizabeth Kübler-Ross, who set up this scheme in her book On Death and Dying, regretted it being taken dogmatically, but it seems to be a helpful model for many of us.

A death is final but a kidnapping leaves you with hope. You can feel angry with your kidnapper, but you can’t afford to hate him. You depend on him too much, you can only appeal to his humanity or send the ransom money. One finds that anger and hate, even when suppressed, hurt one as much as they hurt their target. At least it’s the case for me. A pain in my chest stopped me sleeping, I’ll call it anger but since some of it was directed against my own stupid self, there was nothing I could do. Years ago, freshly recovered from a chronic illness, then afterwards trained to help others recover too, I learned to treat every emotion as a messenger calling us to action. Thus the body floods us with specific chemicals, spurring our brain to the commission of deeds, not always pleasant ones. It is difficult to behave impeccably in such circumstances. But we have certain choices, to be made with all the intelligence we can muster, to channel our emotions into the most appropriate action, starting with where we are now.

 

8 thoughts on “Taking the Bull by the Horns”

  1. Oh, data loss can be tragic! I used to religiously back my main drive onto an archival drive. Then one time when I forgot to do so; my main drive failed. A few years later and I still search for files I had and no longer exist in my archive.

    I define hate as I hate that we had such a poor choice in the past election (USA). Neither were qualified and the one elected may only be the least of 2 evils. As shown by leaked email Senator Sanders should have won the nomination.

    In any case, 2016 is behind us in a few hours. Lets all work together and make 2017 a good year.

    Vincent, May you and yours Have a Very Happy and Prosperous New Year!

    Like

  2. And Happy New Year to you too, Bill! May you survive every storm unscathed. Your typewriters and pens qualify as rewilding too in a sort of metaphorical way. At least you know how to fix them. I’ve messed my computer again today. The data is safe but I can’t start up and no one can look at it till Tuesday. Destiny is trying to teach me detachment.Meanwhile, K is watching a documentary on her countryman, Usain Bolt – another obsessive showing how boring it is to be one. I see you have a new post up, will go and comment there.

    Like

  3. “Love trumps hate,” an odd choice of words, given the situation — and her opponent. Maybe it was taken as an admonition, rather than a declaration: “Love Trump’s hate.”

    Like

  4. P.S. Not that I necessarily EQUATE Trump with hate, or see his appeal to people as an inherently hateful one — God knows there’s been enough of that said. I just thought the play on words was funny. At any rate, when engineering an inspiring slogan, it’s probably best not to use one that literally incorporates your opponent’s name. Just another one of the baffling miscalculations of the Clinton campaign.

    Like

  5. Oyyy, maybe I should start my own blog and hang a sign – “No Political Discussion (or reposting in opinionated and disharmonious atmospheres)”.
    I liked what you said a while back about how if America were in the hands of Native American wisdom maybe we would be in a better place. Letting the liberals & conservatives fight it out on horseback with bows and arrows sounds like a good idea to me, too.
    Shutting down for a reboot, taking things a day at a time, putting politics aside & trying to cope – when our nerves are shot from the grief of a personal tragedy, is what I got from this.

    There’s a poem I like by Gerard Manley Hopkins that reminds me of all your good energy and strength:

    God’s Grandeur
    The world is charged with the grandeur of God,
    It will flame out, like shining from shook foil;
    It gathers to a greatness, like the ooze of oil crushed.
    Why do men then now not reck his rod?
    Generations have trod, have trod, have trod;
    And all is seared with trade; bleared, smeared with toil;
    And wears man’s smudge and shares man’s smell: the soil is bare now, nor can foot feel, being shod.
    And for all this, nature is never spent;
    There lives the dearest, freshness deep down things;
    And though the last lights off the black West went
    Oh, morning, at the brown brink eastward, springs—
    Because the Holy Ghost over the bent
    World broods with warm breast and with ah! bright wings.

    Like

  6. Happy New Year Brian & Bryan—and all readers!

    I’ve wanted to get back here but after writing my PS above I broke the computer again, the worst ever. [Windows wouldn’t start, the poor man at the shop had to redo all the resetting he’d done before and it took him two days. Then I got it back and immediately messed it up again, though not so badly yet, forgetting immediately what I’d painfully learned the last two times (or more, have lost count).] I can’t ask poor Rashid to help again, and now feel nervous to do anything at all. Humbling.

    Pen and ink, now, that’s good stuff, you can make any kind of mistake without consequences, just keep writing.

    Poor Gerard Manley Hopkins, a great poet unpublished in his lifetime on account of being a Jesuit priest. The same fate was suffered by Pierre Teilhard de Chardin. How can one possibly judge whether the turning-points in one’s life were good or bad moves?

    God or no God, what is, is. A set of accidents called Evolution made us. In the same manner each life’s journey is shaped by accidents. Hopkins says it in a poetic style of his own invention, which cannot be bettered.

    Why “poor Hopkins”?

    He is thought to have suffered throughout his life from what today might be diagnosed as either bipolar disorder or chronic unipolar depression, and battled a deep sense of melancholic anguish. However, on his death bed, his last words were, “I am so happy, I am so happy. I loved my life.”

    Cindy, yes, do start a blog, and ban political discussion there. You’ve given me an idea!

    Like

  7. I want to thank Bill again for his opening exclamation—

    Oh, data loss can be tragic!

    which here at 4am made me look up tragedy and thence catharsis.

    And write in my leatherbound book that

    all that has ever happened to me is my friend

    and on that thought, wish the same to an anguished world, and so back to bed till morning light.

    Like

Leave a comment