Figures in a landscape

I was walking along the Ledborough Road this morning, past the little shops and into town. You see every kind of person, it seems, from anywhere on earth. Something struck me about one man, the way he glanced at me as I passed. It seemed to say “My soul soars, but here I am stuck with this body.” He had a well-worn face, and his glasses were slightly askew. I judge him to be four-foot nine (145cm), about fifty years old; and a man who wants to walk tall and not be seen as short. He wasn’t strutting defiantly like some of the others I often see, the ones who are shorter still.

Yesterday I was still editing the paragraph when K rang me from town after her shopping, to come and have lunch at the pub. I walked as usual through the playground at the back of our house and along the derelict school playground, which the County Council has now protected with high fences and left as a wilderness, theoretically awaiting redevelopment when the right buyer comes along. I was still rewriting the paragraph in my head. It came to me that I should add something: that a day will inevitably come when I can no longer walk within any landscape. Life is a season. If we are lucky, it offers a brief flowering.

And then I had to pass a point on the sidewalk where such big weeds hang out through the fence that there’s only a narrow space to pass. You could step off the kerb when someone comes the other way but cars often like to speed round the corner with reckless disregard. I saw a tall man coming the other way, walking with difficulty, supporting his weight on a stick. I hadn’t yet reached the narrowest section, so stopped while he got past the stinging-nettles. He was grateful and said it was a nice day; and then in very halting English started to talk about his affliction. He had a name for it, I think, but couldn’t pronounce it, something beginning with M. He made a hand gesture which seemed to implicate his whole body, especially his head and right wrist, which looked misshapen up to the elbow, as if poorly mended from a broken bone. He says he cannot read and write—he surely means no longer, because he gives an impression of being cultivated,  to use an old-fashioned word—and points to his right eye, or perhaps his brain. “Four months in hospital, no work any more now”. I feel there is much that he wants to tell me, though not about his damaged body and diminished circumstances. He mentions those merely to have me wave them away as irrelevant; and then to share that which still blossoms in him, and which he and I hold in common, despite the lack of language to express it.

I should add that it’s nothing unusual round here to greet people whose English is rudimentary, and have limited conversations across an uncomprehending gulf between our cultures. Almost everyone in our street falls into that category. But this was special, like a soul-to-soul reaching out, as if this man, at the very time I passed, was harbouring the same thought as I, that our flowering season is not over. We are still figures who can walk in the landscape, see the world pass by in all its wondrous variety, and smile. It was as if my thoughts had escaped from the dark chamber of my consciousness, and bounced off the outside world to meet me again, against some angelic mirror. Not for the first time. And so he offered his left hand, the other one looking very painful, and we shook that way. And then we had to part, I conscious that Karleen was waiting in town. And then over lunch, when we didn’t have much to talk about, I knew it would be impossible to tell her of this encounter—no point in mentioning it. In writing, I can only try.

I compare the message of these two encounters, and imagine that each in his own way was answering my questioning glance. The short, man who seemed to be saying, “My soul soars, but here I am stuck with this body.” The tall afflicted man with his stick, seemed to be saying: “I see you look at me with pity, and I can understand that, because this body is not what it was, this brain too, my eyesight. But I have been someone. Underneath this surface, I still am. You may be sorry for me because I can’t walk fast like you, and have a lot of pain, much more than you. But what are these, in the bigger scheme of things? Here we are both,  still walking in the landscape, warmed by the sun and a stranger’s smile. Our flowering season is not yet over. We have lived, you and I. We’re not going to spoil the moment by wanting what we haven’t got. And now, every day, I give thanks for having left hospital alive. Whatever happens.”

I felt as if I’d met my future self in the street, and that all was well.

25 thoughts on “Figures in a landscape”

  1. Hey there!

    I remember, back when I first started blogging, reading somewhere that you shouldn’t write posts apologizing for not posting for a while. The idea, I guess, was that you should just get down to business, and let your readers come to terms with your absence in their own way. I forget how they put it exactly; something like, “They can plainly see you’re posting again. It goes without saying.” I don’t know if I’d consider this good advice or not. Sometimes there may be a juicy story behind a long absence that’s well worth telling, and besides, part of the nature of blogging is keeping it personal and relatable, and it would seem odd in the context to gloss over being away for months without mentioning it at all. But at any rate, that’s stayed with me and I’ve probably tended to adopt that as a policy without really thinking about it too much.

    My point is (if I’m going to kid myself into thinking that I have one) is that all these splitting complexities of your persona probably aren’t necessary (unless you find some entertainment in them.) I’m just glad to see a new Wayfaring post. That’s all the explanation I need.

    And you certainly got down to business. I’m amazed, as always, at your writing. The passage about your encounter with the man with the stick was spell binding, like watching a tightrope walker or listening to chords cascading out of piano.

    Like

  2. No, the persona-splitting was a bore, as I discovered just in time—an imagined solution to an imaginary problem. For the events described above showed how entangled the creation, curation and editing processes are.

    One thing always brings me back to posting here: the relationship with readers. Ten years of writing in this format are proof enough of the formula, the only one that works for me.

    Another glimpse in the angelic mirror, a few hours ago, underlines the importance of this relationship. I’m reading Some Reminiscences, by Joseph Conrad. He’s describing the writing of his first novel, Almayer’s Folly, and the magical moment he lent the part-written manuscript to a fellow naval officer, after years of carrying it around on voyages and nearly losing it in the River Congo.

    He tendered it to me with a steady look but without a word. I took it in silence. He sat down on the couch and still said nothing. I opened and shut a drawer under my desk, on which a filled-up log-slate lay wide open in its wooden frame waiting to be copied neatly into the sort of book I was accustomed to write with care, the ship’s log-book. I turned my back squarely on the desk. And even then Jacques never offered a word. “Well, what do you say?” I asked at last. “Is it worth finishing?” This question expressed exactly the whole of my thoughts.

    “Distinctly,” he answered in his sedate, veiled voice and then coughed a little.

    “Were you interested?” I inquired further almost in a whisper.

    “Very much!”

    This was the turning-point, that persuaded him finally to sail on his own imagination, instead of the sea, by writing novels.

    So your words, & of course other readers’, always mean a great deal. & that’s why I can’t give up writing new stuff to make time for curating the site.

    Like

  3. This is very lovely & thought-provoking, Vincent! So like you to handle something that could be depressing and sad with such sweet hope and cheer.
    As of yet, I haven’t learned to accept life for what it is and not what I want it to be. Hopefully, I’ll acquire more of your Buddhist characteristics as time keeps chugging along.
    You sure know how to write ’em! I’ll be remembering this post for a long, long time. Thank You!

    Like

  4. …warmed by the sun and a stranger’s smile. Our flowering season is not yet over. We have lived, you and I. We’re not going to spoil the moment by wanting what we haven’t got. And now, every day, I give thanks for having …

    Beautiful ideal…. methinks. Luv ya. D.

    should add that it’s nothing unusual round here to greet people whose English is rudimentary, and have limited conversations across an uncomprehending gulf between our cultures.

    Um, depends on the definition of ‘rudimentary’ ‘english’ Vincent … some of us at the Southern part of this planet (not specifically trained to believe that the ‘Mediterranean’; and Northern hemisphere -is the ‘centre’ of this earth’); and may well have a peculiar sense of humour.. And why should a small patch of ground situated between Canada and Mexico … have the temerity to remove the ‘you’ from humour, honour, and colour??

    Like

  5. Hey, David, thanks for the comments. I took the liberty of combining them into one, because I can edit anything. If you don’t like it I can restore your originals. What betrays my interference is the centaur icon, which I couldn’t get rid of. I don’t know if WordPress gives you the opportunity to edit your own comments?

    Like

  6. Excellent, I am indeed lord here.
    As it says in the Glossary:

    Shen Buhai used the term wu-wei to mean that the ruler [lord of this domain], though vigilant, should not interfere with the duties [contributions] of his ministers [readers]

    Thus wu-wei (not-doing) tells me what to do.

    Like

  7. … reminds me of those “”DESPERATE!!!!!!! “””” pPLEAEEASE BUY””””!!! Advertisements on “Commercial” television.
    Three minutes of ‘program” – three 1/2 five minutes exhorting me to buy products that i have to a/;improve my skin .. demolish a block, buy a European car on the wrong side of the road —- and looks like no REAL road that have taken my scrubby “offroad” 1981 Jackaroo (remains maintained) … into and through.
    O, OK … one of the days will pitch my 1981 4WD Jackaroo against any $80,000 “SUV” …. ..meh.

    Like

  8. To be honest I am not comfortable with the big quotes either. However, I am obliged to choose one of the free themes offered by WordPress. Apparently, if I pay them money, I can choose modifiable themes and do more or less anything to satisfy every conceivable whim.
    The difficulty here is not that I’d have to pay WordPress money. If it were important I could find ways to afford the rental.
    But by going for the free version, it seems to me I own the freehold, that is, no rent to pay. I can happily die or become a vagrant of no fixed abode and they won’t take the site down through any default on my part.
    It’s a mirror of my housing situation. No mortgage left to pay, no charges or liens on the property. Everything goes to posterity intact.
    So we must take the rough with the smooth.

    Like

  9. “And why should a small patch of ground situated between Canada & Mexico have the temerity to remove the ‘you’ from humour, honour, and colour??”

    David,
    Because it’s ‘our’ country & we can. We are a proud, generous and kind nation. Worthy of so much more than to be blamed for absolutely everything, everything, everything.
    I come here for a little peace in a world that is always, always, always pointing the finger at me & my country. A world that is constantly hurling insults and mocking us like we are strange & crazy.
    We all have flaws. None of us are perfect. So please be kind in your words o.k? I need that. This blog is sacred & holy to me.

    Like

  10. I like the big quote mark on the block quotes. Reminds ME of a magazine. I think it looks professional. To each his own.

    As far as our national “temerity”, I’m with Cindy, although I think there are actually a couple of words where I prefer the British spelling. ” Grey”, for instance. That’s the British spelling, right? I think ….

    Like

  11. With language, I tend to think “Vive la différence”, as with accents. They help identify the speaker. English being so widely spoken world-wide, it’s big and generous enough to accommodate the needs of all its speakers. I like this entry in the OED against the word in its noun form:

    b. orig. and chiefly U.S. slang (in African-American usage). A white person. Chiefly depreciative.
    1943 D. Burley in N.Y. Amsterdam News 10 Apr. 13/4 Walter Green..is getting rich at that new all-white spot where the greys shower him with greens each and every dim.
    1965 O. Harrington in J. H. Clarke Harlem 90 The year was 1936, a bad year in most everybody’s book. Ellis the cabdriver used to say that even the grays downtown were having it rough.
    1970 A. Young Snakes (1971) 35 They dont even be making sense to one another much less to..some of these simple-ass grays.
    1996 D. Adebayo Some Kind of Black 22 Greys clad in Levis that their flat-jack backsides could not properly fill out.

    Like

  12. Vincent – ‘language’ is indeed fascinating concept. “communication” is yet another.. Self cannot ‘speak’ French, Italian, German .. et al … .. – but can, more or less ‘understand ‘ Europeans. Odd really,. Waving hands around a lot..Self has difficulty comprehending asians.. “bowing”, kow towing to everything said is confusing, and uncomfortable, to me.
    But have to recognise that Chinese beliefs, history, — is probably older than even the Roman Church ‘Myths, beliefs, and legends”..

    This planet is as it is, Vincent. Am too old to take any responsibility for it’s demise. Sad, in many ways … have known about the ‘science’ predicting CLIMATE CHANGE since 1970 … but who listens?? .

    .

    Like

  13. O, while am in this forum .. written “English” .. am Grumpy about the removal of the “you” from ‘colour’, ‘honour’, and ‘humour’…Yep, ’tis easy t say culla, onna, .. but whooma becomes dificult .. how does one pronounce ‘humour’ … heh.

    Like

  14. Judging by the circuitous avoidance of the first person pronoun, the almost tourettes-like overdeployment of quotation marks, the allusion to the southern hemisphere, and the tendency to cap comments with a brief “heh”, I’m guessing the Perrygrin is the artist formerly known as Davoh.

    Like

  15. Love it!

    As the sidekick of the lord of this domain, I shall be the culler of off-topic comments (especially Vincent’s) without notice when they’ve had their spell of glory in the sun—perhaps a few weeks later, when no one is looking.
    Just saying.
    Unless I judge them amusing enough for posterity.
    Ian the Curator

    Like

  16. Wonderful account of those two siginificant encounters on your wayfaring road, Vincent. I can’t help wishing that they hadn’t been so brief and that the connection had expanded, continued. I know I shouldn’t wish this and that they are what they are, just snapshots, instants. Nevertheless I wonder what I would have done in the same circumstance (and if nobody was waiting for me at the pub). Would I have gone on talking with the tall, aching man? It’s trickier for a woman, interest can be misinterpreted, magnified. The rules are different, even if one doesn’t follow rules.

    Like

  17. Yes, they were just snapshots and as such, psychic events based on real people. Since then I have wondered if I would see either one again, and whether it would be in the same place—figure and landscape reunited, as with John Holdsworth. Thus reality turns into myth, and gains in potency thereby. As in your paintings.

    Like

  18. There is a door through which one may enter a world of clarity where things appear as they are – infinite. But the door is hidden to the natural eye which perceives only the gross, physical world. An event where one encounters an individual who has removed the obscuring veil behind which we ordinarily hide, affords the opening through which one may pass into the immortal, infinite, eternal dimension.

    Like

Leave a comment