Dreaming of Paris

Vous êtes ici: you are here

I hardly know Paris.* That’s what inspires me to write about it, at book length if necessary; so that I can fill out that slight acquaintance with a body of research, and report back. The research is not to be carried out through the study of texts (other than my own notes), but through the sketchbook of memory and magic paintbox of imagination. And when I say “book length”, that means (to this particular miniaturist) an indefinite series of blog posts, done with the minimum of artifice; as if it were a gallery of handmade postcards, using the English language to create something like rapid water-colour washes. Nothing ponderous—like London— but light and “ooh-la-la”, like Paris herself.

One of the first sights which greeted us after arriving at the Gare du Nord, and clattering our small wheeled cases over the cobbles to the chosen hotel (Le Robinet d’Or, The Golden Tap) was this mural, telling us “You are here”: where “here” is surely the Paris of your artistic imagination. Or, in my case, your dreams. For that afternoon, I dreamed Paris, whilst I curled up in a white bed, exhausted. It’s not necessary to actually see Paris, I reasoned, in the skewed logic of hypnagogia. England had let me escape. Perhaps now Paris was re-dreaming me. So I lay under a thick white duvet, on a softly-yielding mattress, and let it reach me through the excellently soundproofed windows of traditional French design—which I had to throw wide open to cool the room. So I learned much that I could otherwise not know about Paris in my sleep, without pounding my aching feet further on its narrow sidewalks. Paris came to me unbidden, its tapestried soundscapes filling my dreams. That afternoon, it was roar, bang, crash, the same repeated again and again. Then a pause, before roar, bang, the sound of a hundred bottles being dropped down a chute to shatter in a huge container. This again repeated, forever and ever. Trucks were emptying bins all along the Rue Eugène Varlin; interrupted at intervals by the distant calls of emergency vehicles slicing through thoroughfares, winding through cobbled back streets. At night, under the overstuffed coverlet, we heard the sounds of high-spirited roistering, the buzzing of motor scooters (the smaller the louder), snatches of music, the rhythm of high heels, unintelligible taunts and jokes, throngs of tipsy students, now boys, now girls, now silent pairs of footsteps disappearing into the night. Even asleep, even rudely awakened, I took comfort in the good humour and intelligence of those who serenaded our dreams, making us porous to Paris—its wit, its elegance, its single-minded pursuit of pleasure—the whole 24 hours, or as they say in French, “nonstop”.

One thing was special about our voyage to this neighbouring but usually alien world called France: we got there without setting foot in motor vehicle or aeroplane. Door to door, it was to all intents and purposes a pilgrimage on foot. It’s true that we took advantage of trains as one takes advantage of escalators or moving walkways: hopping on and off judiciously to help cover the miles and kilometres. We left home before dawn, drawing our wheeled cases behind us through the empty town; took a train to London; a Tube to St Pancras International; a Eurostar to the Gare du Nord, from which it was a short walk (passing the mural) to our hotel. All we needed was tickets, which could be fed into machines which immediately yielded us passage. It made for a seamless progress from door to door. Suddenly I realized we were in France. The countryside as it whizzed past looked exactly the same, but the houses looked different. I hadn’t even noticed us entering or leaving the Tunnel. I was mildly chagrined at missing the terminals at either side because I’d worked for Eurotunnel a couple of years before it opened in 1994; and retain a great fondness for the place. I’ll have to write about it one day.

Paris versus London, how to compare? “Ooh-la-la!” says the butterfly, represented by a fashionable woman in high heels. “Cor blimey!” says the beetle, represented by a black cab. And yet I felt the Brits and the French are different because they want to be. If a Londoner does it one way, the Parisian wants to do it the other way and to hell with common sense.

The most Parisian character of all, I think, is the little old lady who descends from her apartment with a little old dog, so it can do its business in the street, and she can buy her stick of bread. A frail creature, or so you think, but then she comes past you and your wheeled cases on the narrow sidewalk, and despite her perfect manners makes you feel like a clumsy tourist oaf. I read a silly piece on TripAdvisor® about how to enjoy Paris. Only one phrase stuck with me as good advice “Act like you live there!” They allow you to edit the text. I’ve so far resisted the temptation to correct the phrase’s grammar. But in any event, we did find a few ways to act as though we lived there, whilst remaining true to our touristic mission.

*

Paris looking south from the Sacré-Cœur in Montmartre

* I resided in Paris  for 3 months in the summer of 1962, as part of my undergraduate course in French. For this, having a non-refundable living allowance, as was then the custom those days in British higher education,  I should have been able to afford my stay. I was booked into the Cité Universitaire, but my grant never came through, must have failed to submit the form properly.

In consequence I lived rough for the rest of the time. See  Full Circle and In Memory of George Whitman 1913-2011

10 thoughts on “Dreaming of Paris”

  1. Ah, so this is where you were off to.

    “St Pancras International…”

    At first I though this said “St Pancreas”, which would be…odd.

    My imaginary Paris is mostly informed by Victor Hugo's novels (and possibly a few episodes of House Hunters International and a few movies.)

    “Act like you live there!”

    As a writer, I hate to confess that I couldn't quite catch the problem with this. Must be an American thing. I'm assuming that you're objecting to “like” being used to mean “as though.”?

    Like

  2. Yes, K thought it ought to be spelt Pancreas as well; but medical training can sometimes send you on the wrong track (no pun intended).

    Yes, I thought it was an American thing too, 'til I checked some American grammar sites. They are united in condemning the use of “like” as a conjunction. I like this one best: “Grammar Girl: quick and dirty tips for better writing”.

    It's not that I'm objecting to it. I just find it impossible to offer it within a quotation without commenting as to its incorrectness.

    (Others might have carelessly said “It's not like I'm objecting …” or carelessly written “it's incorrectness”.)

    And when I write “incorrectness” the spell-checker which haunts this browser underlines it as incorrect.

    Which illustrates a general point, that following the crowd is a poor guarantee of getting anything right. I'm constantly shouting at the radio, as BBC journalists mangle the English language, instead of setting a good example. But amongst friends I keep quiet unless – as you have done – they raise the subject.

    Like

  3. Finally got around to following that link, which I think rendered both of my subsequent replies moot, as it pretty much said the same thing. So feel free to clear those off.

    I will say this, though. When it comes to grammar, I think you have to pick your battles. The purpose of language, first and foremost, is the communication of ideas as well as tone and feelings, and this should be the primary consideration. In the quibbling over minor infractions and violated rules, it's easy to lose sight of this. After all, the rule that “like” is a preposition and “as” is a conjunction grew out of usage in the first place. It's not like it was handed down on high from the gods. And there needs to be a certain flexibility in the usage of any living language. In the end, I don't feel that a casual substitution of the two words here or there is going to seriously hinder our ability to communicate with each other the way some more grievous grammatical errors threaten to. And that, to me, is the important thing.

    For a longer ramble about this, I'll refer you to my own post on the matter:

    http://sunnystrangers.blogspot.com/2012/05/war-of-words.html

    Like

  4. I've never been to Paris—only knowing it as I know most places: from films, television, books, posters, and an ancient 78-rpm recording of “I Love Paris in the Springtime” (lol) that I vividly recall from early childhood.
    I have constructed my own Paris, (and Manhattan also, even though I happened to live there) and perhaps it has no relation to anything except cliches.

    Our dear Fernando seems ubiquitous in our conversations—and I am reminded of him yet again in some of your remarks in this post—i.e. not having to actually see Paris in order to know it.
    I had to look-up “hypnagogia”, btw

    Like

  5. To some extent, I continue to see it through clichés, I'm sorry to say. But I believe there is a good excuse for it, because one wants to get a sense of the soul of something, I mean the spirit which lies behind all the details and unites them into a coherent idea which corresponds to the word Paris, London, Lisbon, Manhattan, etc. We want to think of them as having a personality, but not even human beings have a definable personality, except in imagination.

    And this is where Pessoa comes in, because he takes imagination to extremes and declares it more seductive and powerful than reality; and therefore preferable.

    The rest of us may be infatuated with reality. That is we are not satisfied with the tiny bit of reality we actually know. I'm not satisfied with five nights in Paris, seeing less than the dedicated tourist but also seeing less than the person who lives there. So again, imagination fills the gaps.

    Like

  6. Forgive me if this is a dumb comment. I've been canoing all day & I didn't hear about the terrifying train derailment until a few minutes ago. I don't know why, but my first thought was of you & this beautiful post you wrote about your train trip to Paris. I doubt you'll see this comment, but if you do could you please say a little something to let me/us your readers know you are safe & not vacationing again in Paris right now? ;( Such a sad. & horrible tragedy.
    What is this 'Eurotunnel' you mentioned writing a post about someday? When you get some time to spare could you write a piece about it? Take good care Vincent! I pray you are well & safe & that you are having a nice summer!

    Like

  7. My dear Cindy, I heard about the derailment too and it reminded me of that trip to Paris. Bless you for such a painful thought, but K & I have been safe at home since that trip. I ought to publish a little album of photos from it. I use them as wallpaper on my computer still.

    Two companies were involved in the construction of the tunnel under the English Channel (La Manche) which separates England from France. TML did the actual building and ceased existence after it handed over the infrastructure to Eurotunnel, which exists to this day.

    There is another company called Eurostar, which runs trains from London to Paris and other European destinations.

    I find that I often promise to write about something but then don't, because the inspiration doesn't come.

    But whilst at Eurotunnel (1992-1994) I was quite creative at work. A few specimens from that time are published here: http://www.ian.mulder.clara.net/etmain.htm

    We are certainly enjoying summer here, and I hope you are too.

    Like

  8. Thank You for easing my fears! It truly means a lot!
    Thanks for explaining too! I love all things historical & nostalgic.
    I'm not able to view your ingenious specimens on my Android. But I wrote down the link you were kind enough to give me & you can darn well bet I will view them on my next visit to the city library.
    Happy beautiful summer!
    Thanks for being -safe- & well!
    :0)

    Like

Leave a comment